March 02, 2009

A night of many “firsts” and surprise guests marked the 21st edition of “Premio Lo Nuestro a la Música Latina” award, held Thursday night at the BankUnited Center in Coral Gables, FL and broadcast live by the Univision Network. The bachata group Aventura was the biggest winner of the night, taking home four awards after winning all categories for which it was nominated. Superstar Juanes swept the rock genre, taking three awards and also winning all the categories in which he was nominated. Vicente Fernández, Wisin y Yandel, Enrique Iglesias, Jenni Rivera, Olga Tañón, Alacranes Musical and Víctor Manuelle all took home two “Premio Lo Nuestro” awards each.

One of the biggest highlights of the night was a message from President Barack Obama. The President kicked-off the broadcast with a positive message of hope and civic engagement for Hispanics across the nation. He also thanked viewers for making their voices heard not only by voting for their favorite artists, but also in the latest Presidential Election. President Obama also recognized the contributions of Latin music and, speaking in Spanish, sent his best wishes for all “Premio Lo Nuestro” nominees telling them “¡Sí se puede!” (Yes we can!)

The 2009 edition of “Premio lo Nuestro a la Música Latina” began with a blowout performance by popular reggaetoneros Wisin y Yandel with a spectacular aerial battle between good and evil as they performed their latest hit “Me Estás Tentando.” Later in the show, the duo took the stage once again to partner up with pop music idol Enrique Iglesias for a surprise performance of Iglesias' hit “Lloro Por Ti.” One of the most anticipated moments of the night came when popular group Aventura took the stage to perform their hit “Por Un Segundo.” Set in an elaborate Bollywood-style wedding production, these kings of bachata left the audience screaming for more after a colorful number that featured custom-made wedding attire imported directly from India.

Two of the show’s most memorable moments came when iconic rocker Alejandra Guzmán and pop music legend Emmanuel each took the stage to perform some of their greatest hits. Honored for her 20 year career as one of Latin music’s top rockers, Alejandra was the recipient of this year’s special “Trayectoria Artística” career achievement award, receiving it from the hands of none other than her mother, the beloved actress Sylvia Pinal. Meanwhile, in one of the night’s most moving moments, Emmanuel received the “Premio a la Excelencia” for artistic excellence from rock superstar Juanes who was joined on stage by a surprise guest, Emmanuel’s son, Alexander Acha.

Other outstanding numbers included the first-time live television performance of Luis Fonsi’s “Aquí Estoy Yo” along with David Bisbal, Aleks Syntek and Noel Scharjis; Gloria Trevi’s riveting performance with Horóscopos de Durango singing the duranguense version of “Cinco Minutos;” an unforgettable rendition of Franco De Vita’s “Un Buen Perdedor” in a duet with K-Paz de la Sierra; and the surprise guest appearance of actor Wilmer Valderrama (“Unaccompanied Minors,” “That 70’s Show”) as the object of Fanny Lú’s disdain in her performance of “No Eres Para Mí.” In addition, urban music artist Flex paid homage to his native Panama with a number that featured folkloric dancers in traditional Panamanian dress. To sing his new hit “Dime Si Te Vas Con El,” Flex was joined on stage by the up-and-coming singer Pee Wee, for a first time collaboration that brought the audience to their feet.

Later, popular salsero Victor Manuelle presented the world premiere of his newest song “Yo Te Quería Querer” against the backdrop of a lively Broadway-style musical; while the dynamic Puerto Rican salsa duo NG2 closed the show with a vibrant rendition of their hit “Ella Menea,” and were joined on stage by salsa icon, Gilberto Santa Rosa.

Additional show highlights include the performances of Reik, El Chapo de Sinaloa, and La Arrolladora Banda el Limón; as well as the big reveal of the show’s secret co-host, the popular novela actress and singer Ninel Conde who joined actor and comedian Eugenio Derbez for a night filled with glamour, humor and the greatest celebration of Latin music.

The show was preceded by a star-studded red carpet show, hosted by Univision personalities, Bárbara Bermudo and Giselle Blondet.

As the official website for this year’s “Premio Lo Nuestro,” (keyword: Premio Lo Nuestro) is generating unsurpassed engagement as viewers vote for their favorite stars on the red carpet and post thousands of messages about the show. Voting for red carpet fashion will continue until Monday, March 30th at 10am ET / 9am Central / 7am PT and the results will be announced the same day on and live on “El Gordo y La Flaca” (The Scoop and the Skinny) after 4pm ET/PT.(3pm Central). Exclusive video highlights and artist interviews, in-depth winner profiles and thousands of behind-the-scenes photos will keep fans coming back for more.

A complete list of the awards presented follows:

Album of the Year: “95/08 Éxitos,” Enrique Iglesias

Male Artist of the Year: Luís Fonsi

New Soloist or Group of the Year: Eiza Gonzáles

Female Artist of the Year: Gloria Trevi

Group or Duo of the Year: Camila

Song of the Year: “Dónde Están Corazón,” Enrique Iglesias

Album of the Year: “La Vida es Un Ratico,” Juanes

Artist of the Year: Juanes

Song of the Year: “Me Enamora,” Juanes

Album of the Year: “Kings of Bachata: Sold Out at Madison Square Garden,” Aventura

Male Artist of the Year: Víctor Manuelle

Female Artist of the Year: Olga Tañón

Group or Duo of the Year: Aventura

Song of the Year: “El Perdedor,” Aventura

Tropical Merengue Artist of the Year: Olga Tañón

Tropical Salsa Artist of the Year: Víctor Manuelle

Traditional Tropical Artist of the Year: Aventura

Album of the Year: “Capaz de Todo Por Ti,” K-Paz de la Sierra

Male Artist of the Year: Vicente Fernández

Female Artist of the Year: Jenni Rivera

Group or Duo of the Year: Alacranes Musical

Song of the Year: “Un Buen Perdedor,” K-Paz de la Sierra con Franco de Vita

Banda Artist of the Year: Jenni Rivera

Grupero Artist of the Year: Marco Antonio Solís

Norteño Artist of the Year: Intocable

Ranchero Artist of the Year: Vicente Fernández

Duranguense Artist of the Year: Alacranes Musical

New Soloist or Group of the Year: AK-7

Album of the Year: “Los Extraterrestres,” Wisin y Yandel

Artist of the Year: Wisin y Yandel

Song of the Year: “Te Quiero,” Flex

Video: “Pose,” Daddy Yankee

Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.