LISTA announced that it has selected Ms. Anna Carbonell as the recipient of the Latinos in Information Sciences and Technology Association (LISTA)

Jennifer Lopez graces the cover of PEOPLE en Español’s “100 Most Influential Hispanics” issue which honors those who have made an impact in the Hispanic community.

The complete list of PEOPLE en Español’s “100 Most Influential Hispanics”:

Aida Levitan, Ph.D., President/CEO of Levitan Palencia, received the “Entrepreneur” award presented by Vanidades, a leading Spanish-language women’s beauty, fashion and lifestyle magazine, as part of a tribute to exemplary Hispanic women around the country.

As an extension of the Líderes campaign launched in June, Coors Brewing Company announced it will honor Rosa Navejar, president of the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (FWHCC), as the 2006 Coors Hispanic Leader of the Year and the FWHCC as the 2006 Coors Hispanic Non-Profit Sponsor of the

Anyone driving through Albuquerque on a Sunday evening, scanning the airwaves for something to listen to, should tune in to 89.9 fm KUNM community radio. They will be met by the enthusiastic sound of Youth Radio.

Starting on Nov. 7, Election Day 2006, Latina media entrepreneur Cathy Areu will be joining the Oxygen Network as it’s new headline news “vlogger,” hosting a daily video blog on the woman’s network’s web site

Latin Business magazine, a bimonthly publication serving the nation’s Latino business community, has announced Alex López Negrete, Chief Executive Officer and President of Lopez Negrete Communications in Houston, will receive the “Latin Business Marketing Spirit Award” at this year’s annual gala on October 12 in the Gold Room of the historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

For six years, MOSI (Museum of Science & Industry) has recognized nationally distinguished Hispanic science professionals. Past honorees include a former U.S. Surgeon General, a Nobel Laureate of Chemistry, a NASA Astronaut, a Marine Biologist, and most recently, a Harvard professor of pathology and former chief of immunogenetics at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. This year, MOSI honors an educator whose passion for science allowed her to break barriers and become the first Latin American woman to receive a Ph.D. in seismology at Columbia University; Dr. Inés Cifuentes is the 2006 National Hispanic Scientist of the Year.

Aida Levitan, Ph.D, APR - is the 2006 Royal Palm Award honoree. The Chapter will also present $2,500 scholarships to four outstanding students in South Florida.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) recently announced that María Elena Salinas, Univision’s Emmy-award winning co-anchor of “Noticiero Univision” (Univision News), will be awarded the 2006 Intrepid Award.

El Diario/La Prensa in New York will host the 3rd annual “El” Awards at the Grand Havana Room this Fall. The “El” Awards were first produced in 2004 to recognize Latinos who are high achievers in their chosen fields.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the 2006 recipients of the “Leaders in Spanish-Language Television” Awards, which included Univision’s Fernando Arau, co-host of “Despierta América” (Wake Up America); María Elena Salinas, co-anchor of “Noticiero Univision” (Univisi

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the launch of a new series of public service advertisements (PSAs) designed to encourage the adoption of older children and teens from foster care.

With paint rollers in hand and plenty of elbow grease to spare, thirty teenagers from local community centers pitched in to help beautify the Vermont Ave. headquarters of another youth-serving organization during the annual L.A. Works volunteer day, held Saturday, June 3. The event was sponsored in part by the Majestic Realty Foundation.

This year's "Women Helping Women Award" presented by the Hispanic Professional Women's Association (HPWA) honored several women including two National Hispana Leadership Institute (NHLI) members at the 4th National Annual Convention and Exhibition of Mexicans Abroad for 2006.